ASHT recognizes members and hand therapy supporters through the following awards, presented at the Annual Meeting:

Past award recipients
Hall of Fame

2022 Awards Timeline

June 2022

Award nomination submission period opens

July 2022

Award nomination submission deadline

August 2022 Award winners notified
October 2022 Awards presented at 2022 ASHT Annual Meeting


Research Awards

The ASHT Research Division names the following at each Annual Meeting:

Annual Awards

Nathalie Barr Lectureship Award

The Nathalie Barr Lectureship Award is among ASHT’s highest honors, recognizing and honoring a member of the American Society of Hand Therapists who has made significant original contributions to hand rehabilitation in one of the following ways:

  • The development or refinement of professional theory and/or techniques
  • Contributions to hand therapy development as a profession and to ASHT
  • Outstanding research

The nominee must have shared this information through publications and speaking presentations. Nominees must be an Active member in good standing of ASHT for at least five years. The honorary lecture is announced at the Annual Meeting and given at the following year’s meeting. The award includes a $1,000 honorarium.

Nathalie Barr Lectureship Award nomination application 

Paul Brand Award

The Paul Brand Award recognizes individuals who have exemplified humanitarianism in their work as a hand therapist in addition to providing clinical and professional excellence in several facets of practice. The candidate for this award is one who strives for the advancement of hand therapy, which may include underserved areas nationally and/or internationally.

The nomination is open to all Active, Charter, Lifetime, Associate and Affiliate members of ASHT in good standing for a minimum of five consecutive years including the year nominated.

Paul Brand Award nomination application

Joy MacDermid Lifetime Scientific Award

The MacDermid Lifetime Scientific Award in Hand Therapy recognizes an ASHT member who has made contributions through research to the science and practice of hand rehabilitation, which have subsequently changed hand therapy professional standards. The award is announced at the ASHT Annual Meeting. The recipient of the award will present his/her research contributions during the MacDermid Lectureship at the following year’s Annual Meeting. If the award is to be given, the recipient will be notified two months in advance of the Annual Meeting at which the award will be announced. This nomination is open to ASHT members in good standing who have demonstrated career-long research-related endeavors that have had a lasting and transformative impact on the science and practice of hand therapy.

MacDermid Lifetime Scientific Award in Hand Therapy nomination application 

Lifetime Fellowship Award

Lifetime Fellowship status is an honor awarded to individuals in recognition of career-long contributions to the society and the field of hand rehabilitation. Lifelong ASHT Fellows are honored for their long-term society membership participation, exemplary leadership and documented achievements in the field. The nomination is open to ASHT members active for a minimum of 25 years. Eligible nominees must have demonstrated extensive leadership through sustained and significant contributions to the profession. Additionally, nominees must have made significant contributions to the profession and consumers through their knowledge, expertise, leadership, advocacy and guidance. This may include but not be limited to community outreach, mission trips, etc. 

Lifetime Fellowship nomination application

Honorary Membership Award

The purpose of Honorary Membership Award is to recognize persons other than certified hand therapists who have made significant contributions to ASHT and the specialty of hand and upper extremity therapy through education, advocacy, research, public service, marketing and promotion of the ASHT’s mission, vision and values; whose achievements are of national or international significance or influence and have provided notable service to the specialty of hand and upper extremity therapy. Honorary Membership is awarded to an individual who is not already a member of ASHT and who is not eligible for Active or Associate membership in the society. One Honorary Membership Award will be considered every two years.

Honorary Membership Award

Hall of Fame Award

The Hall of Fame Award was established to recognize hand therapists who have reached the pinnacle of excellence in all areas of hand and upper extremity therapy. The areas identified for excellence include clinical practice, research, advocacy, education, international involvement and innovation. The nomination is open to former hand and upper extremity therapists currently retired from the profession. Nominees must be former (or current Retired) ASHT members with previous volunteer and leadership experience within the Society.

Hall of Fame Award