Tri-Alliance Grant Honoring ASHT Founders

Funded by:  American Society of Hand Therapists, American Hand Therapy Foundation, Hand Therapy Certification Commission

Purpose: To promote meaningful research in hand therapy through the funding of one or more grants awarded annually. Funding amount is up to $45,000 for 2023.

Eligibility: Occupational or physical therapist: clinicians, graduate students, or faculty at accredited occupational/physical therapy programs are eligible for this award. At least one member of the research team must be a member of ASHT with his or her role in the proposed research clearly defined and significant to the project.

Scope of Research:
Grant proposals are accepted for research within any domain of hand therapy. The AHTF has the responsibility of verifying the appropriateness of the proposed research.

Recipients will be required to share their findings at an ASHT annual meeting. A scientific abstract should be submitted to ASHT within one year of study completion. Recipients will also be required to submit their completed research to a peer-reviewed journal for publication within one year following the completion of the project.

The application window is open from January 1 through March 1. Anticipate formal announcement of awards by August. 

Download Grant Application  

View the Level of Evidence Table      

If you do not have a copy of Adobe Reader software, you can download it for FREE.    

2020 Founders Grant Award Recipient

No award winner in 2020

2019 Founders Grant Award Recipients

Aviva L Wolff, EdD, OTR, CHT;
Alfred Gellhorn, MD;  
Brett Toresdahl, MD;
Ellen Casey, MD;
Daphne Ling, PhD;
Ibadete Thaqi;
Mehnaz Shahid, MS                

"Effects of an Education and Prevention Program on Reducing Upper Extremity Injury in Musicians."

2018 Founders Grant Award Recipients

Nicholas Heebner, PhD, ATC;
Tim Uhl, PT, PhD;  
Jenny Dorich, OTR/L, MBA, CHT;
Nicole Cascia, PhD, ATC

""Biomechanical validation of push-up and pull-up progression program"

2017 Founders Grant Award Recipient

No award winner in 2017

2016 Founders Grant Award Recipients

Neha Dewan, PT, PhD Candidate and Joy MacDermid, PT, PHD
"Home safety leading to bone safety: Validation and feasibility testing for using GoPro video-technology to assess home fall risk in women following distal radius fracture"

Folarin Babatunde, PT, PhD Candidate, MSc Sports & Exer Med, CBTcert, Micert
"Physiotherapist-delivered internet-based behavior change intervention (i-bci) for managing psychosocial problems after a distal radius fracture: A pilot and feasibility study"